Information for Halifax, Northampton, Vance & Warren Counties in North Carolina


Kerr Lake (Buggs Island Lake)

The Army Corps of Engineers operates this 50,000 acre reservoir and an additional 50,000 acres of surrounding land. In the 1950's, Kerr Reservoir, also called Buggs Island Lake, was constructed primarily to provide for flood control and hydropower generation.

The 900 miles of wooded shoreline stretch across three counties in Virginia and three in North Carolina. Along this shoreline you can find opportunities to boat, fish, camp, swim, picnic, hike, and hunt. Find Lake Gaston homes for sale in North Carolina counties Halifax, Northampton, Vance & Warren.


Halifax County

Halifax County was established in 1758. It is about 8 miles from the VA border in the north central part North Carolina, encompassing an area of approximately 722 square miles. Its current population is approximately 55,000 residents. Halifax County has become a premier location for its quality of life and convenient access to a variety of recreational activities. 

Halifax County has grown into a center for arts, education, businesses and tourism attractions.

As of the census of 2000, there were 54,691 people, 8,691 households, and 5,953 families residing in the county. The median age was 40 years.


Northampton County

Northampton County was formed in 1741 from Bertie and named for James Compton, the 5th Earl of Northampton. It has a total area of 551 square miles.As of the census of 2000, there were 22,086 people, 8,691 households, and 5,953 families residing in the county. The median age was 40 years. Northampton County is a place of thriving diversity - home to some of the most productive farms in America, state-of-the art manufacturing and distribution facilities operated by leading national and international corporations, small and welcoming towns, and waterfront developments on pristine lakes.


Vance County

Vance County is located along the northern border of North Carolina. The county is named after Zebulon Bair Vance, a Governor and later Senator from North Carolina. Vance was created in 1881 from parts of Franklin, Granville and Warren Counties. It's largest city is Henderson.

As of the census of 2000, there were 42,954 people, 16,199 households, and 11,647 families residing in the county. The median age was 35 years.

The area of Northern North Carolina that Vance County calls home boasts rolling hills, beautiful topography and a ton of rich history to boot. Vance County is home to much of Kerr Lake, an 850 mile long stretch of beautiful shoreline surrounded by diverse wildlife and lush North Carolina woodland.


Warren County

Warren county was formed in 1779 from the northern half of Bute County. It was named for Joseph Warren, a physician and general in the American Revolution who was killed at the battle of Bunker Hill. Its county seat of Warrenton became a center of commerce and was one of the wealthiest towns in the state from 1840 to 1860. Other towns include Norlina and Macon. There are more than 50 properties listed in the National Register of Historic Properties.

As of the census of 2000, there were 19,972 people, 7,708 households, and 5,449 families residing in the county. 

The median age was 40 years.

Warren County boasts year-round outdoor enjoyment including hunting, fishing, ATV and motorcross, horseback riding, golf, and from May to September, swimming, water skiing and other water sports at Lake Gaston and Kerr Lake. Great for In addition, the county hosts a wide range of musical and art festivals, parades, and agricultural events throughout the year.